Global AI NewsThe Daily Brief

Data product · dated public source claims

IndiaAI compute: dated public snapshots

A source-linked record of IndiaAI compute quantities and dated project allocations. Each total shows its source-stated stage, snapshot date, unit, count basis, and definition; unstated fields remain unknown.

Last updated

Observation unitGPU counts and mixed accelerator-category entries

Evidence framingDated public-source claims

Recorded observations · 10

These are dated claims, not a live inventory. Announcement does not establish installation, deployment, access, or scheduling.

Mission target

more than 10,000

more-than

India-wide programme

not specified by source

Source/report date
7 Mar 2024
Source-stated snapshot date
Not stated by source
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
Not a ratio; overall common-compute target. Equipment inclusion criteria are not stated.
Source definition
A policy target of more than 10,000 GPUs; it is not a delivered-capacity count.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

Approved common-compute target; not evidence of delivered hardware.

primary source

Cabinet approves the IndiaAI Mission · Press Information Bureau, Government of India

Initial facility reported

about 10,000

about

India-wide programme

not specified by source

Source/report date
30 Jan 2025
Source-stated snapshot date
Not stated by source
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
Not a ratio; an India-wide initial-facility count. The source gives no model or operational breakdown.
Source definition
The release describes about 10,000 GPUs in the initial facility; live availability is not defined.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

The release describes an initial facility but does not establish live service or free capacity.

primary source

With robust and high-end common computing facility in place, India all set to launch its own AI model · Press Information Bureau, Government of India

Additional capacity announced

8,693 additional GPUs

exact

India-wide programme

not specified by source

Source/report date
30 Jan 2025
Source-stated snapshot date
Not stated by source
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
Not a ratio; planned additional tranche. Its relationship to later totals is not stated.
Source definition
The release says 8,693 GPUs were to be added; completion is not established.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

The release says these GPUs were to be added; it does not verify completion.

primary source

With robust and high-end common computing facility in place, India all set to launch its own AI model · Press Information Bureau, Government of India

Empanelled + additional

34,333 total

exact

India-wide programme

not specified by source

Source/report date
30 May 2025
Source-stated snapshot date
Not stated by source
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
18,417 empanelled + 15,916 additional GPUs, the two source-stated components; operational inclusion criteria are unknown.
Source definition
The release defines the arithmetic components of 34,333, but does not define the total as installed, live, or schedulable.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

The release combines 18,417 empanelled and 15,916 additional GPUs without defining live or schedulable status.

primary source

India’s Common Compute Capacity Crosses 34,000 GPUs · Press Information Bureau, Government of India

Installed (reported by ET)

a little over 17,300 installed

more-than

India-wide programme

not specified by source

Source/report date
24 Jun 2025
Source-stated snapshot date
16 Jun 2025
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
Provider-review count; the cited report does not specify a complete provider denominator.
Source definition
The report uses “installed” for a little over 17,300 GPUs in a 16 June provider review; the source does not publish a status crosswalk.
Installed
reported
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

Secondary reporting attributes this early-rollout figure to a 16 June provider review; it is not a current inventory.

independent source

IndiaAI plan moves forward with over 17,000 GPUs successfully installed · ETtech, The Economic Times

Onboarded

38,231 onboarded

exact

India-wide programme

not specified by source · 14 providers

Source/report date
25 Mar 2026
Source-stated snapshot date
Not stated by source
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
38,231 GPUs across 14 empanelled service providers, as stated by the source.
Source definition
The release reports the GPUs as “onboarded” but does not define onboarding as installation, live service, or availability.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

The government reports onboarding from 14 providers; no per-provider live inventory is supplied.

primary source

Government supporting organisations and consortia to develop sovereign foundational models · Press Information Bureau, Government of India

Onboarded (rounded)

nearly 38,000 onboarded

nearly

India-wide programme

not specified by source

Source/report date
29 Jul 2026
Source-stated snapshot date
Not stated by source
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
Aggregate provider count; the release gives no exact count or provider denominator.
Source definition
The release says “nearly 38,000” were onboarded; its exact count and relationship to other stages are unknown.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

A later PIB release repeats a rounded onboarded figure without a new exact count, provider list, or status crosswalk.

primary source

Innovation, Startups, MSMEs and Quality Manufacturing are Pillars of India’s Future Growth · Press Information Bureau, Ministry of Commerce and Industry

Shared capacity

45,000+ shared

more-than

India-wide programme

not specified by source

Source/report date
13 Aug 2026
Source-stated snapshot date
June 2026
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
IndiaAI shared-capacity total; which hardware states or categories are included is not stated.
Source definition
The factsheet reports more than 45,000 as “shared”; it does not define that stage or reconcile it with onboarding.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

The factsheet reports shared capacity as of June; it does not reconcile the figure with onboarding or define currently free devices.

primary source

Semiconductor and AI Revolution · Press Information Bureau, Government of India

Access reported by ETtech

about 30,000 accessible

about

India-wide programme

not specified by source

Source/report date
1 Oct 2026
Source-stated snapshot date
Not stated by source
Count unit
GPUs
Denominator / count basis
About 30,000 accessible against a 45,000 commitment; the basis of the accessible count is not defined.
Source definition
The article reports access to about 30,000 GPUs; it is not a provider-level inventory or a schedulable count.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
reported
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

A secondary report compares access with a 45,000 commitment; it is not a provider-level or live availability feed.

independent source

IndiaAI Mission likely to rewire after GPU glitch · ETtech, The Economic Times

Provider / accelerator-category table total

45,081 combined entries

exact

India-wide programme

Mixed GPU and non-GPU accelerator categories; category-level counts are shown in the source.

Source/report date
Not stated by source
Source-stated snapshot date
Not stated by source
Document metadata date (not snapshot date)
2 Sept 2026
Count unit
mixed accelerator-category entries
Denominator / count basis
Sum of 14 bidder or consortium rows across NVIDIA/AMD GPU and Intel, AWS, and Google accelerator categories; no common operational denominator is stated.
Source definition
Unknown — the PDF does not say whether the listed quantities are offered, empanelled, installed, or serviceable. Its 2 September 2026 file-creation date is not a snapshot date.
Installed
not established
Deployed
not established
Accessible
not established
Schedulable
not established

Scope limitation

The provider table combines GPU and non-GPU accelerator categories and gives no publication/as-of date, status definition, or live inventory.

primary source

IndiaAI Compute Portal: provider and accelerator-category table · IndiaAI Compute Portal

Methodology

One observation per public compute-count claim. Preserve source report date, source-stated snapshot date, stage wording, unit, denominator/count basis, and definition separately; unknown source fields are not inferred. Treat the provider/category PDF as a mixed-category total, and cite portal allocation rows as project-level records rather than programme-wide hardware totals. Do not add unlike stages or reinterpret claims as installed, deployed, accessible, or schedulable supply.

Limitations

  • This is not a provider- or facility-level hardware inventory.
  • The portal allocation register records project-level assignments but does not establish delivery, installation, active reservation, or current availability.
  • The reviewed sources do not establish a current count of installed, deployed, or schedulable GPUs.
  • The reported GPU-hours are not defined by the source as metered consumption.
  • Accelerator models and geographic distribution are not supplied consistently.

Update history

Initial publication from dated public claims; unresolved hardware states remain explicitly unestablished.

Added source-by-source snapshot dates, stage labels, count units and bases, definitions, and the mixed-category provider table total. Unstated dates and definitions remain unknown; no live capacity crosswalk was found.